IndiTrace vs Provenance: A Fair Provenance Alternative Guide
Provenance validates product claims and plugs into e-commerce; IndiTrace records each batch behind a QR trace page, monthly and per batch. Which fits whom.
Short answer: Provenance and IndiTrace solve different problems. Provenance checks a brand's product claims, such as "B Corp", "vegan" or "carbon reduced", against evidence and publishes them as Proof Points on websites and retailer pages. IndiTrace records where each batch came from and what happened to it, then shows that record on a public QR trace page. If you need third-party claim validation and e-commerce badges, choose Provenance. If you need a per-batch origin record on the pack at a low monthly price, IndiTrace may fit better.
We make IndiTrace, so weigh this with that in mind. Every Provenance fact below links to Provenance's own pages and was checked in October 2026.
What Provenance does well
- Claim validation across many claim types. Provenance's "Validate" product checks product claims about ingredients, efficacy, safety and sustainability against supporting evidence. Its pricing FAQ describes a framework of "125+ Proof Points" (as of October 2026). The Provenance Framework lists claim types tied to third-party standards, such as Non-GMO Project Verified, Fair to Nature, Cradle to Cradle and Carbon Trust-verified reductions (as of October 2026).
- E-commerce and retail reach. Its "Activate" product puts validated claims on a brand's own site and on partner retailers' pages, per the pricing FAQ. It also has a free Shopify app that adds a sustainability badge and clickable Proof Points to a store (as of October 2026).
- AI search positioning. Provenance tells brands that structured, validated claims help them appear in AI search answers (pricing FAQ, as of October 2026).
- Published, self-serve prices. Its pricing page lists plans at £179, £379 and £679 a month, billed annually, for 25, 50 and 100 products (as of October 2026).
If a retailer wants your claims checked by someone other than you, Provenance offers that. IndiTrace does not.
What IndiTrace does, and where it stops
IndiTrace is a batch record tool for food businesses:
- Record each batch's source: farmer or supplier, place, dates, quantity and grade.
- Add processing steps and custody transfers between parties. Attach lab reports, certificates and photos.
- Print a QR code per batch. It opens a public trace page with a route map, with no app or login.
- Each confirmed record is fingerprinted on Polygon. That proves the record has not been changed since, not that what it says is true. Our explainer on what blockchain verifies goes into the difference.
Plainly, its limits:
- It is newer. It has no reviews on G2 or Capterra and no named public case studies yet.
- It does not validate claims or certify anything. A certificate you attach is shown as a document, not checked by IndiTrace.
- It has no e-commerce plug-in, SDK or API keys.
- It does not file EUDR due diligence statements. See the EUDR glossary entry.
Comparison table
| Provenance | IndiTrace | |
|---|---|---|
| What is recorded | Product-level claims with evidence (pricing FAQ) | Batch-level origin, processing and custody |
| Validates claims | Yes (pricing FAQ) | No |
| Public QR page per batch | Not stated on its current pricing pages | Yes, no app or login |
| Blockchain record | Not stated on its current pricing pages | Yes, fingerprint on Polygon |
| Shopify app | Yes, free to install (Shopify) | No |
| Retailer publishing | Yes, partner retailers (pricing FAQ) | No |
| Entry price | £179/month billed annually (pricing) | ₹149/month (India) or $5.99/month (global) |
| Pricing unit | Per product, in tiers of 25/50/100 | Per proof credit, roughly one per batch record |
| Minimum term | 12 months (pricing FAQ) | Monthly plans |
| Free option | Not stated on its pricing page | Free Starter Pack: 3 credits, 30 days, no card |
| Setup fee | Not stated on its pricing page | None |
| Reviews on G2 / Capterra | None found | Not yet |
Provenance facts as of October 2026.
How the two approaches differ
Provenance works at the level of the claim. It answers: is this product's "organic" or "carbon reduced" statement backed by evidence a third party has checked? That is valuable when claims, not origins, drive the purchase, as in beauty, personal care and packaged goods sold through UK and European retailers.
IndiTrace works at the level of the batch. It answers: where did this lot come from, who handled it, and what documents go with it? That matters most where origin is the product, such as a single-estate spice, a GI-tagged crop or a farm-direct grain.
The two can sit side by side. A brand could use Provenance to validate its certifications and use IndiTrace to show per-batch origin on the pack.
Which one fits
- UK or EU brand selling through retailers that partner with Provenance: Provenance. Its retailer network and validation are the point.
- Brand whose main question is "are my sustainability or ingredient claims credible?": Provenance. IndiTrace does not validate claims.
- Shopify store that wants a claims badge on product pages now: Provenance has a Shopify app. IndiTrace does not.
- Small food brand in India or abroad that wants each batch's farm, dates and lab report on a QR code: IndiTrace. See solutions for food brands and spice brands.
- Brand that cannot commit to a 12-month contract: IndiTrace's plans are monthly. See pricing.
Questions
Q: Is IndiTrace a direct Provenance alternative? Only partly. It is an alternative if what you need is a scannable origin record for each batch. It is not an alternative for claim validation, retailer publishing or a Shopify integration.
Q: Does Provenance publish its prices? Yes. As of October 2026 its pricing page lists £179, £379 and £679 a month, billed annually, for 25, 50 and 100 products, with a 12-month minimum term.
Q: Does IndiTrace verify that my product is organic or sustainable? No. You can attach a certificate to a batch and the trace page shows it. IndiTrace does not check it. The Polygon fingerprint only proves the record has not been changed since it was confirmed.
Q: Can I use both? Yes. They record different things: Provenance covers validated product claims, and IndiTrace covers per-batch origin and handling.
How we research and update guides, use AI drafting help and handle corrections: editorial policy. Spotted an error? Write to contact@inditrace.com.
More in Comparisons